Coldplay and warm feelings

When we were in high school (about 10 years ago, we realised with a cold chill last night) we used to love Coldplay. Mostly thanks to my best friend Adriaan, who loved the band for classics (again here with the feeling of getting old) such as In my place, Clocks, the Scientist and of cause Yellow, which we used to listen to lying on the grass in a 4 pointed star shape, looking at the stars, and how they shine for you…

So when Lila, one quarter of the infamous foursome of my youth, called to say she had two tickets to the concert at Cape Town Stadium last night A was naturally my first choice.

Believe it or not it was both our first time in the ‘new’ stadium and we really enjoyed the experience. The stadium is well designed, fills and clears out easily and (although the sound isn’t great) the bowl shape is great for light shows, and the fireworks they started with were very special.

But I am not going to try tell you how great it was, how cool the atmosphere was… Just like I don’t believe in taking crappy pictures of 3 white blocks or star shaped blobs or making poor quality videos of a blurred stage with crap sound on my Blackberry will give me or you any satisfaction to look at later… It’s a “you had to be there” experience.

So I picked my favourite two from News24 and will leave you with that.

And two of my favourite quotes by Chris Martin last night:

1. “It’s been 12 years, but we are finally in South Africa, sorry but it took us that long to get a visa…”
2. “This next one is to practice for when you guys win the Rugby World Cup.”

What a legend. Thanks Coldplay. (soft) Rock on.

Leave a Reply

