soup and sherry on a grey winter’s day…


This morning I took on the N7 north while it was raining cats and dogs. After booking my car in for a long overdue service with my dad’s local mechanic in Malmesbury, with a note that the rain has pointed out clearly that I need new wipers as well, I headed out to my cousin and her husband’s farm in the Paardeberg.




On Kalmoesfontein Adi Badenhorst makes amazing, no fuss wine the old fashioned way. I do some digital PR for them (keeping it in the family) and it is an easy job, since Adi is much loved by the media and his wines market themselves. Check out our blog or website and see for yourself…

And then I got to have lunch with some of the Swartland’s biggest names in independent wine making; Chris & Andrea Mullineux of Mullineux Family Wines, Eben Sadie of The Sadie Family Wines as well as Boekenhoutskloof’s Marc Kent.

Even better than that was the fact that lunch was at one of Kasteel’s little gems, Bar Bar Black Sheep, the perfect place to come in from the rain. On a Union Jack table,
next to the fireplace we enjoyed an amazing lunch special – not only is the food amazing, the special price is too… Soup (stunning dark onion and garlic) sandwich (tomato, greens and cheese on freshly baked farm bread) and a glass of sherry (perfect for the cold grey day)… ALL FOR 30 BUCKS!

Enough to bright up my day!

Watch this space for the big reveal of exactly WHY we were all gathered there today, coming soon! You are gonna love this:)

I ended my day by having a chat and a cup of tea with my gran, and she gave me a lovely scarf she had knitted, but more on this later.

(Short street in Riebeek Kasteel, the wet version)
Leave a Reply

